mist coolant connections

_______________________________________________________














LOGIN below to POST your questions and comments on AjaxCNC products.

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
SEK22Hornet
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:33 am
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none

mist coolant connections

Post by SEK22Hornet » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:45 pm

Looking at adding a mist coolant setup to my mill using the SERVO3IO board. Having trouble finding information on the connections. I have no information on the board - can someone help me locate the connection points? Also, do I need an external relay or is the a relay on the board that will handle a 117vac solenoid valve?

Any help would be appreciated. My mill has the 4th axis drive sitting on top of the shield which makes the even more difficult, by the way...
Thanks - Dan

Centroid_Tech
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:24 pm

Re: mist coolant connections

Post by Centroid_Tech » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:12 pm

Please provide us with a current report from your system.
Attachments
193 Generating Report.pdf
(5.58 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

cncsnw
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: mist coolant connections

Post by cncsnw » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:26 pm

If you are not also using flood coolant, then you could make use of the OUT3 relay in the bottom right corner.

If you need both flood and mist, then you need to add an external relay: e.g. one of Centroid's M15SPRLY boards, or your own small relay with a 5VDC coil and a snubber diode. You would connect the plus side of the relay coil to +5VDC (either from the VCC terminal of H11, or direct from the logic power supply behind the unit). You would connect the minus side of the relay coil to the "RELAY DRIVER #1" terminal on H10.

Typical SERVO3IO PLC programs already use OUT1 for Mist coolant, so no PLC changes should be needed in you connect a relay to OUT1.

If you reassign the on-board OUT3 relay to be mist instead of flood, and you want to control it with M7 and the Mist control key, then you need to swap the Flood and Mist output definitions in your PLC program and recompile.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests