Bridgeport Boss R2E3 Series II new to me project: Introduction

_______________________________________________________














LOGIN below to POST your questions and comments on AjaxCNC products.

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
RandyL
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:53 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Bridgeport Boss R2E3 Series II new to me project: Introduction

Post by RandyL » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:25 pm

Hello All,
My name is Randy and have been lurking around this forum and decided, time to join.
I have a project mill, that I am wanting to upgrade to allin1.
This is new to me project, I don't have much experience, but willing to try and learn how to do the task at hand.
Mill originally had stepper system; then was converted to dynopath, pulled from a Cheveler machine. Previous owner stated it had an over travel alarm on Z, but could never get it to reset out of alarm mode.
it has SES motors XYZ.
a few current pics links
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fx0sn5ko3v6p9 ... 2.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ezeaxgv1iggvb ... 8.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/utzlwoo29uzpl ... 7.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ywij7w6boah96 ... 4.jpg?dl=0
I will probably put on a different cabinet, happen to have a nice empty control box from a series 1 boss machine.
Will try and make a clean, nice control box layout.
Will be looking for help along the path, Marty has already helped me and his videos are great!!
Oh ya, trying to do on a budget, so will be scrounging around for deals.
Cheers

Centroid_Liviu
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:57 am
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none

Re: Bridgeport Boss R2E3 Series II new to me project: Introduction

Post by Centroid_Liviu » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:32 am

Hello Randy,

Can you post a picture of servomotor data-plates? Sounds like a great ALLILN1DC candidate.

RandyL
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:53 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none

Re: Bridgeport Boss R2E3 Series II new to me project: Introduction

Post by RandyL » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:36 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/c02j7812kfbm6 ... 8.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rk96u96o89vgd ... 1.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/uiu3bgrq2elrw ... 1.jpg?dl=0

I will be upgrading the encoders, already have them just need to change out.
2000 line driver.

Yes, I hope this upgrade will work well. If I can get this project completed and it works well, I will be doing another.
The next one will be much easier, I hope.. :roll:

Centroid_Liviu
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:57 am
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
System Serial Number: none

Re: Bridgeport Boss R2E3 Series II new to me project: Introduction

Post by Centroid_Liviu » Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:51 am

Thanks for the updated info. Those motors should work great with the ALLIN1DC. Just remove one of the end-caps on the servomotors and see the shaft diameter you have there (the encoders we sell are hollow shaft).

martyscncgarage
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Bridgeport Boss R2E3 Series II new to me project: Introduction

Post by martyscncgarage » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:48 pm

You are gonna love that machine when you are done with the conversion to All in One DC.
Try and get a wide screen touchscreen monitor. Will come in handy in the next release of the software. ;)
Would be nice to upload the pictures directly to this site, so they come up with the message. Just click on the ATTACHMENTS tab below the preview box, next to options and upload them.

We'll be interested to watch your progress.
Marty
"Jack of all trades, master of none!"
Mesa, AZ

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests